Edit Fest – Doubt Revisited

May 10, 2013 at 2:00 am (fantasy, writing) (, , , , , )

Editing older work is definitely a tougher job. I can see the way my writing has changed with time and it is irritating in a way. Just being able to recognize the improvements since first edit makes me wonder what more I have to do to make things better…I mean, I thought that was fine when I wrote it and went through it originally, but I know otherwise now. Will I feel the same way about my current work in a couple of years? Will perceived quality ever be enduring, or will I always be looking back with doubt and frustration?

That dissatisfaction leaches through to what I just reviewed – so much so that I went back to the beginning of Victims of Circumstance a second time after getting only a short ways in, and redid things. I know there’s no such thing as perfect, but it would be nice to get to a point where I’m not always questioning what I’ve written, or just edited. About the only thing I have any confidence in are the stories proper. I put a lot of heart and soul into those. I know not everyone will like them, but I think they are stories worth telling if I could just get the words right.

Ugh.

No new responses to my blitz submissions so it’s just a matter of more waiting. The waiting – that’s the worst part of submitting. I even dislike it more than the rejections, to some degree.

Maybe I’ll hear something by the end of the weekend.

1 Comment

  1. joseasanoj said,

    Good Post
    Sanoj Jose(Author, My Day Out With An Angel)

Leave a Reply

