More Negative Feedback, Please

February 10, 2017 at 3:35 am (writing)

1936904_241674725031_1531380_n-editedI admit, I have been away from my blog for far too long. I intended to cover my January submission blitz in greater detail and I always do a February Women in Horror blog spotlight, but in January I assumed some new responsibilities at my day job that leave me wiped by the time I get home. Any energy I can spare is reserved for the family and a handful of submissions still going out, (I fell a little short of my goal in January, so I’m making up for it post blitz.) I’m also writing the odd flash piece here and there, when I can squeeze it in..

My “writing a little on the side” has truly been relegated to the side at the moment while I throw myself with semi-reluctant gusto at other ambitions.

But I find myself with a current rewrite conundrum. I have a certain dark fantasy short story that has gotten a fair amount of positive feedback from both pro and semi-pro revenues (but no acceptance to date,) The last rejection was an odd one. It had the standard “doesn’t have the right fit” line many form rejections have, but then it proceeds to say what they liked most about the story and suggested it could be reworked and resubmitted…

…Only there’s no constructive criticism. In other words, they haven’t told me what they think I should change, so it makes it difficult to change it. This isn’t the first time this has happened with this story, More than once I’ve gotten a “maybe you could rewrite and resubmit” suggestion without being able to put a finger on what they think is wrong. This has proven challenging for me, because I don’t know where to begin. I consider it one of my better stories (my husband doesn’t want me to change it at all) and I’m having trouble seeing where it could be reworked. Some constructive criticism would be a great starting point, but it’s not there.

I have no problem making changes to a story and resubmitting. I’ve done it several times, on most occasions seeing success with the re-submission (I’m waiting to hear back on another requested rewrite right now.)

So I may try to take a stab at it this weekend, if I can figure out how to go about it.  Otherwise, I’ll just set it aside until I’m ready to submit it somewhere else.

1 Comment

  1. theleagueofelder said,

    Keep plugging away, Chantal. Your talent kniws know boundaries. Fervor and Magic U are still the best books I’ve read in a long time.

Leave a Reply

