Let’s Blitz Again – Almost There

October 28, 2016 at 10:57 pm (writing) (, , , , , , , )

11667_300667415031_6542402_n-editedI’m nearing the end of my blitz, Halloween and the start of the cold season. I’m hoping I’ll get several stories finished over the next few months, preparing for my first annual January blitz. It was nice to relax standards a little and send things out to newer, smaller venues offering token payments and interesting contests with not much in the way of prize money. With more focus on my day job lately, my aspirations have changed somewhat. I may dedicate the next couple of months to mixture of writing and some serious editing. I think I’m due for a new round of novel submissions, but I’d like to give them a bit of a tune-up first.

My last couple of submissions have gone to a genre competition being held by a literary magazine (whaaat?) and one of a newer publisher’s start-up anthology. It’s theme works with the story’s content, which has generated a fair amount of interest but has yet to clinch a “yes”. I may throw it into the “rewrite” pile if it gets another rejection. I actually expected it to get in somewhere long before some of the stories that followed it (but they went first.

I’m off to figure out my costume for Monday, and maybe give my daughter a hand at sewing hers. I hope you all have a great weekend, and I’ll post again soon.

Leave a Reply

