Let’s Blitz Again – October 2016 #6

October 9, 2016 at 12:01 am (writing) (, , , , , , )

1277052_10153171332605032_768076155_o-editedI skipped a post because I spent last night cleaning vegetables I had harvested from the garden, but I dd get submissions off for yesterday and today and organized my “What I have available for submission” list.  Yesterday’s submission went out to a writing competition and today’s was another new venue for me, semi-pro pay looking for weird tales.

I’m still sitting at two responses so far, both positive, and I’m contemplating some ideas for flash fiction.  I also have a rewrite I’m looking at based on feedback from the last two rejections I got for that particular story.  They suggested my protagonist comes across as cruel, so I have to change it up so it’s clear the character was acting out of panic and not being intentionally negligent or just plain selfish.  Self-preservation can be a strong instinct – strong enough to override any sense of duty or loyalty – and one that can be hard to ignore.

I finished up the latest book I’ve been reading and need to write up a review.  I loved the final battle scene, with lots of action and great twists and turns.

Tomorrow’s busy, so we’ll see what I can squeeze in.  For now, the search for the next submission call continues.

Leave a Reply

