Let’s Blitz Again – October 2016 #5

October 6, 2016 at 11:01 pm (dark fantasy, horror, writing) (, , , , , , )

202345_10153006317075032_1470588330_o-editedSo far, I’ve had two responses to my submissions. The first was an invitation as a result of my author query on day one (although it may not apply until 2018 – I don’t mind the wait.) and the second was for Tuesday’s submission. Apparently, my daughter is a valid critic. The acceptance came with a request for a title change. I didn’t mind. I’ve had that request for one other story and I didn’t hesitate to change it. I’m never that attached to a given title.

I did start work on another call for submissions yesterday until I realize the call doesn’t open until November 1, so I’m setting that one aside. Maybe I’ll extend the blitz by a day to include that one. I have enough material to spare, especially if any rejections come back during the month.

I may end up skipping a post or two to do garden-y things in the next week. We’ve had a couple of frosts which could end up with a need for some quick harvesting. I won’t skip any submissions though.

Today’s submission, a “multi-maybe but never yes” story that has been through one requested rewrite and therefore now exists in two versions, one with a more optimistic ending than the other. I like them both. I sent off the darker version to yet another pro-rate venue with a fitting theme. We’ll see how it fares this time.

More later…

Leave a Reply

