Let’s Blitz Again – October 2016 #4

October 6, 2016 at 12:59 am (horror, writing) (, , , , , )

1015129_10152927514425032_1847553204_o-editedI like to run my stories past others before I send them out. Sometimes I send them out to friends willing to test read them and other times I force family members to listen to them, especially the flash pieces. Reading them out loud allows me to catch small errors I might otherwise miss. One error out of 5000 words doesn’t seem so bad – one error in 500 is ten times worse.

Now that my daughter is mature enough to appreciate my horror, she’s a great captive audience and as a sarcastic, tell-it-like-it-is teenager, she’s also a blunt critic. I know if she says she likes something, she means it. If she has a problem with any of it, she’ll let me know. Granted, what a teen girl likes vs a venue editor can vary greatly, but it’s still great to have an honest opinion about a story – one based solely on reader taste and not what somebody else thinks your writing approach or style should be because that’s how they would write it.

So it’s further forward on the hunt for submission calls. The next story out is one I love, but it has been rejected eight times. It did have one pro-rate “maybe” though and another editor described it as a “high quality submission”, so maybe number nine will be the charm.

Fingers crossed…

Leave a Reply

