Summer Excerpt – Theme “Wine” #2

July 18, 2016 at 4:28 pm (fantasy, Magic University, writing) (, , , , , , )

11754554_10155841288460032_4464622716940604587_o - EditedToday’s my last full Eymet. Tomorrow it’s off to Bordeaux so I can catch my flight to Paris and from there head back to Canada. I’m going to miss the socializing here. Trips to the local pub with my sister so we can sit and chat and outings to friends of my parents where we sip wine and nibble on cheese and olives are a little different from the socializing I do at home. It feels as if there’s a stronger sense of community here and people are quite warm and receptive.

Don’t get me wrong, people are friendly back in Nova Scotia, it’s just a different kind of friendly. I’m more comfortable around other people here then I am at home.

So here’s my next excerpt, from Masters & Renegades: Magic University.  I won’t be posting again until I get home, thanks to my converter missing a spot for a grounder (and my cord plug having a grounder).  Once I leave for Bordeaux, I won’t be able to charge my laptop until I hit Montreal, so the power I have will be for necessary/urgent use only (like electronic check-in for my flight.)

Tom entered the magical chamber.  A surge of apprehension swept over him as he looked at the royal blue carafe upon the table and the scry eye hovering above.  It was so different without Snyder there to guide him along.  The half-satyr had been a wonderful teacher, but Tom still did not feel confident enough about his skills to feel comfortable without him.  He sighed and approached the table.

Tom supposed it was his own fault.  He had let people pamper him all of his life and he did not have to be here.  In fact, many people would prefer he not be where he was, if they would have known.

As Tom squatted and focused on the carafe, he considered how he and his teacher had first met.  Snyder had been a travelling entertainer.  Tom had always been fascinated by magic and had requested that Snyder meet with him for a private audience.  He had food and wine brought to his chamber and they had talked all night about magic.  Having some idea at Snyder’s true identity, Tom pressured Snyder into revealing that his bardic talents were only a tip of the iceberg.  The half-satyr was a highly-skilled Renegade mage and his ability was much greater than his bardic charade would suggest.  Tom had leapt at the opportunity.  He had forced Snyder to remain with him, secretly keeping him as a tutor in spell-casting.

Time to go finish up my packing 🙂

Leave a Reply

