Snips and Stings

June 14, 2016 at 1:46 am (writing) (, , , , , , , )

11258110_10155756421925032_9144854063756410414_oI’ve been on a bit of a blog hiatus thanks to a series of events. Prepping for summer vacations has kept me busy and we’re in full-fledged gardening season (my garden looks lovely so far), which also takes me away from my computer. Add to that jugger and some heavier than normal editing demands and making time to blog is not all that easy. I’ve also been waiting on some ToC information to share that has yet to arrive. But I’ve decided I‘ve delayed long enough for that.

So on Sunday, for a couple of reasons, jugger didn’t happen (we played in light rain on Thursday), and gardening was a no go. My daughter’s class trip has come and gone, and while I have some edits to check over and some submissions I hope to make today, I have a few moments to spare.

I had mentioned about my efforts to network, and while my efforts continue, I’ve found at least one of the forums discouraging. I see people trying to contribute in a rather brash or blunt way(some of whom are social filter-challenged), other people taking offense, some harsh remarks (downright vicious at times) and some apologies, a little joking around, some lauding of new successes with a round of congratulations, arguing over rules and regulations, and writers who are also editors complaining about submissions they receive, but very little of anything productive or helpful. And I’m physically not in close proximity to the majority of the people on the forum, so any discussions of gatherings or meet-ups exclude me because of the distance involved. I feel very much like an outsider because of this and because I am new there.

I was hoping I might see more discussions of calls for submissions, tips and suggestions, problems and advice, encouraging talk and interesting stories – there are some, but I’d have to say more negative or neutral posts so far, a few of them accompanied by a sense of superiority from some writer who thinks he’s better than another. After observing several threads, I’m loathe to comment for fear of being pounced upon and attacked, or at least drawing a passive-aggressive snide remark or two. Even quite innocent comments seem to be vulnerable. The introvert in me is telling me to start avoiding the forum because it is putting me off writing, rather than motivating me.

As much as I was looking forward to participating and broadening my contacts and knowledge, it’s pretty pointless if it deters me from writing. So I might give it a little more time, in hope things improve, but if not I’m going to go back to just doing things on my own again. Maybe that’s how it’s meant to be.

I think that’s why I like gardening. The only things there that stings are the fire ants.

Leave a Reply

