Networking and Nova Scotia

May 11, 2016 at 11:22 pm (Links, writing) (, , , , , , , )

28968_10150173648825032_5870124_nThanks to some of my latest successes, I had the good fortune of meeting a fellow bluenose genre fiction writer so I could lunch and learn more about my cohorts in the province. He and a few others (now including yours truly) decided its about time we try to organize ourselves within the province so we can network better, organize events together and approach organizations as a unified group (that whole “strength in numbers” thing.)

It turns out organizing writers is a bit like herding cats, but we’re slowly getting somewhere and our group keeps expanding.  I’m gradually finding out about other local writers and writing groups, and my discoveries led me to join SF Canada.  I see plenty of networking opportunities ahead of me, and I’m feeling less like an isolated little blip of algae floating around in a big, mostly empty pond.  I still won’t be able to make most of the anthology book releases I’d like to attend, most of them happening out of province, or out of country, but at least I’ll have better means to connect and share.

The one good thing about all of this is that I’m starting to feel less like an impostor who has fluked out a couple of times (surrounded by others on ToCs that have multiple pro sales and awards to their names) and a little more like someone who is achieving new goals regularly and has something to show for my efforts.  I may not be “there” yet but I’m progressing with baby steps and getting closer all the time.

My goal for this current month is to write and submit three stories to three specific pro-rate calls for submissions (I also have a fourth planned for next month).  I’ve finished one story and I’m a good way into the second, so I think this is reasonably easy to accomplish.  I may have nothing to show for it but three rejection letters and three potential re-submissions for future blitzes, but I figure it’s worth a try.

So now I’m off to do some promotional work before I get the kids to bed.  And over the next few days I’ll be watching for my name to be added to the SF Canada membership list.  Maybe I’ll make some new writer friends once that happens.

Leave a Reply

