April Blitz 2016: My Lucky Number (A Baker’s Dozen)

April 13, 2016 at 9:52 pm (horror, Links, writing) (, , , , , , , , )

12971004_262163934118403_6007906465112743331_oLet’s hope today’s pro-rate submission proves as lucky as my lucky number. Today was a YA urban fantasy submission – not my usual fare. Hopefully it will at least get a better perusal than the last two. The rejections came back in less than 24 hours, which always has me wondering if they even bothered to read them at all. Perhaps they eyed my cover letter and when they didn’t recognize my name, they hit the “automatic rejection” button, sending out that form rejection letter without any further fuss or muss.  Disappointing, even though I was anticipating a rejection.

But that won’t happen with today’s submission, as it’s a blind read. It gives me a fair kick at the can, the judgement based on story quality and not name recognition. I wish all publishers used this method, but name recognition can help guarantee sales, so I understand why the pro-rate venues might show some bias. You need sales to fund those pro-rate payments to the authors. I’ve only had two if you use the HWA standards …one based on the SFWA, so I don’t rate active membership yet (you need three and a certain minimum total word count), but I never will if I don’t keep trying.

Besides, 13 really is my lucky number.  I was born on a Friday the 13th (appropriate for a horror writer,) received my first novel acceptance on a December 13th, and the anthology containing my next horror mash-up is coming out on May 13th (see the cover of said anthology above and find details here.)

Hopefully some of you can join us for the online release party.  Knowing the Horror Addicts crowd, I’m sure it will be a blast.

Leave a Reply

