Yuletide Plans

December 24, 2015 at 3:25 am (writing) (, , , , , , )

xmas3I’ve been tinkering away at a story I just recently finished, with a few new submissions I intend to send in over the holidays. Another rejection came my way recently and I’m hoping to get the opportunity to resubmit so I’m digging around to see what calls are out there.

I don’t know when I’ll get around to returning to working on Fervor #6, which is partially complete. I’m not feeling all that invested in writing novels with so many manuscripts here waiting for a home, and since I don’t have the inclination to make a serious shopping effort, nor do I have the time, resources or drive to self-publish (the right way), they’re more than likely going to sit here gathering dust. At least I can say that they’ve all been read by at least one person who enjoyed them, some of them by multiple people, and at the moment, that’s all I can ask for. Things could change some day. We don’t know what the future holds.

In the meantime, my holiday plans involve less writerly things. Tomorrow my daughter and I will be working my workplace’s kids’ party. I do face painting (it’s not pro-level but I’m volunteering so they seem okay with what I produce) and she does balloon animals (self-taught as of age 8 – she amazes me.) After the party wraps up, we’ll be headed out for celebratory sushi. It’s not exactly standard holiday fare, but it’s a favourite in my household.

Other than that, Christmas will be a quiet time at home with the kids and my mother-in-law, just the inhabitants of my house. Not that guests wouldn’t be welcome, but my relatives are spread to the four winds (France, England, Calgary) and friends have plans of their own. My hubby’s family is also spread out, his sister a couple of hours drive to the south and his brothers and father in Alberta. Home’s best for my youngest anyway, Because of his autism, he’s not big on crowds and he’s most at ease when holding to regular routines.

I will miss my friends, Kelly and Pierre’s, open house this year, but they moved away. It was one of those outings I knew would be Etienne-friendly. They always had a gluten-free spread and his stimming and strange ways never seemed to bother anyone all that much. We’ll raise a cup to them though, and wish them well in their new home in Montreal.

Here’s a big happy holidays to all of you out there, no matter what you celebrate (or don’t). I hope this festive time of year brings you time with family, friends and fun.

2 Comments

  1. theleagueofelder said,

    Fervor is a wonderful series. I hope it finds a home to give it the justice it deserves.

  2. chantellyb said,

    Thanks, Ren. I remain hopeful.

Leave a Reply

