After a Long Pause

August 14, 2015 at 4:21 pm (dark fantasy, horror, Links, writing) (, , , , , , )

This year involved a lengthy summer hiatus from blogging for multiple reasons. Summer is always busy for me. The kids are home from school. I work overtime at my day job. Some of my focus is on gardening. This year also included double weekly doses of jugger, a trip to France with my daughter, and new puppy. All of these things proved to be time sucks, albeit positive ones. In summer, the things at the bottom of my priority list get bumped off by the things at the top and because I want to keep writing my fiction, blogging is often one of the things that goes.

And off it went

But I’ve been wanting/meaning to set aside some time to announce some of the good things that have happened over the last few months. I received an acceptance for another pro-rate (per HWA standards but not those of the SFWA) venue, this time for my first stab at steampunk. You can find out more about it here: https://www.blackgate.com/2015/07/30/see-the-table-of-contents-for-clockwork-canada-steampunk-fiction-edited-by-dominik-parisien/

This spring/summer has also been one of multiple releases including short stories in the anthologies Strangely Funny 2 ½ (Dead to Write) and My Favourite Apocalypse (Gaia’s Gift) and some non-fiction pieces in the Horror Addicts Guide to Life. I have other acceptances brewing for release I the near future, including a YA cyberpunk/fairy tale mash up, but those announcements will come later.

HAGLcoverMFAcoverSF2_5

 

No news on the novel front. My series remain in limbo and no new acceptances for the yet-to-be-published, but I’m still writing and still hopeful. I have a test-reader working away at some of them, so we’ll see where that goes.

Until then, I hope to get back on the blogging track when my overtime is up, likely in time for my submission blitz in October.

Until then – if you need me, you may want to hunt me out in the jungle that is my garden this year. You’ll like find me digging up something for supper, pickling or freezing.

Turnip anyone?

Leave a Reply

