April Blitz – Day 21

April 21, 2015 at 10:56 pm (dark fantasy, horror, writing) (, , , , , , )

I finished up my essay, finally, and sent it on its way (with two days to spare.) I don’t have high hopes of even placing as a semi-finalist in the competition, but it’s fun just trying. I’d love an outing to Toronto and the $10,000 grand prize would be like a lotto win.

My two other submissions since my last post include a Lovecraftian tale to a semi-pro venue and, after its second rejection this month, a dark fantasy story to a pro-rate venue. I have high hopes for the story. It got a “maybe” from one pro-rate venue that turned into a “no” and my latest pro-rate rejection came with a comment from the editor that it was a “perfectly good story” but that it didn’t have the feel she was looking for for the anthology (too dark perhaps?)

Only a week and a half to go and still plenty of short stories available for submission. Maybe I’ll try submitting novels in October.

Leave a Reply

