Women in Horror – My First Influences

February 2, 2015 at 3:58 am (horror, writing) (, , , , , )

I’ll be spending most of this month discussing current women horror writers mostly published through small presses (and/or self-published.) But most of my influences growing up were traditionally published with larger publishers, primarily because I was in a time and place where access to smaller press offerings was limited. Here’s a list of female horror writers who helped develop my interest in the genre:

Tanith Lee
Anne Rice
V.C. Andrews
Shirley Jackson
Mary Shelley

Unfortunately, as you can see, this list was rather small. If you compared it to the number of male horror writers I read in my younger years, you’d see it is far shorter – not because I had any preferences gender-wise, but because the choice was lacking. I’m happy to say the number of female horror writers on my reading list has expanded in leaps and bounds, but it still isn’t where it should be. That’s why things like Women in Horror month and all female anthologies are important.

I’m looking forward to sharing my latest finds with you over the next four weeks. I hope it leads others to discover some of the amazing female genre writers out there.

Leave a Reply

