You May Have Noticed…

September 16, 2014 at 11:54 am (Fervor, Reviews, The Snowy Barrens trilogy, writing) (, , , )

I haven’t been blogging much lately. I’m still trying to make heads or tails of the fact that my publisher, May December Publications, has decided to release the majority of its authors, which means the better part of my novels will soon be out of print (in fact, Transcendence already is and the others will soon follow.) If you were thinking of purchasing any of the novels, you may want to grab them now while you still can. Some are being offered at deal prices – Fervor for $4.83 for example.

I can appreciate the reasons behind their decisions. MDP is a family run business and they are dealing with some very serious personal issues at the moment. They are choosing to concentrate their limited time and resources on the publication and promotion of the managing editor’s books instead. This a a more profitable option for them.  I understand their choice, it makes perfect sense, and I expected things to go this way for some time. Unfortunate circumstances just prompted it sooner rather than later.

So now I’m left deciding if I want to put the work into self-publishing these novels, try to find a new small press publisher or just sit on them for a while and mull things over.  My writing effort of late has been going into short stories and I am still publishing those with other publishers.  My Snowy Barrens Trilogy will still be available.

I will have to go about disabling the buttons and links here on WordPress for things no longer in print .  It will take me some time to update everything, so bear with me.  It sort of feels like I’ll be starting all over again from the beginning, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing.  The only thing  I’m unhappy about losing are the reviews I’ve amassed on Amazon, especially for Fervor.

Anyway, MDP and I will be parting on good terms.  I wish them luck and I enjoyed working with them.

On to the next adventure.

3 Comments

  1. theleagueofelder said,

    I’m sorry, Chantal. I would shop your books around for awhile and see what happens. Self Pub’ing is an option, but that’s really time-consuming and it can get expensive. Keep me in the loop and if you need any assistance, let me know.

  2. Fawn Bonning said,

    Hello Chantal. I also lost my publisher about a year ago. I wasn’t too heartbroken over it as I was already seriously considering self-publishing my second novel. I have since republished The Heart of Hannen by self-publishing using Amazon Createspace. Shortly after, I self-published Book II. It was much easier the second time around. It may seem like a daunting task, but with a little bit of research, and some trial and error, it really wasn’t that difficult. And my reviews stayed, so don’t worry about losing them.

    • chantellyb said,

      I’m glad to hear things have gone well for you. I did publish a few digital shorts with another publisher that I parted company with and the reviews have been wiped from Amazon ( they still exist on goodreads)so I’ve had a different experience there. I haven’t made my mind up yet what I’m going to do – I’m going to wait until things slow down at my day job before I decide.

Leave a Reply

