10 Simple Questions – Bellator Edition – Jessica Nicholls

July 30, 2014 at 3:04 am (fantasy, Links, writing) (, , , , , )

In anticipation of the upcoming release of the charity anthology, Bellator, Word Blurb has me chatting with some of the contributing authors. First up is the lovely Jessica Nicholls:

1) Who are you?

 

My name is Jessica Nicholls.  I’m a writer, I’m a wife and I’m a mother. 

 

2) What have you written and in particular, what have you written for Bellator?

I have (completed) a short novel entitled Into the Arms of Morpheus.  I have written various short stories (two of which are published in the respective charity anthologies Reaching Out and Here Kitty Kitty.)  I have a couple of other ongoing manuscripts as well, BUT my contribution to Bellator is a short story entitled ‘With Our Own Blood’.

3) I’m sure you’ve heard this before, but why do you write?     

It’s a release, it gives me a sense of purpose and I like to think I can bring enjoyment to other people as well this way.

4) Do you have a preferred theme or topic?  Are warriors your typical thing?

Not necessarily, but I like characters who are passionate about something, to the point of being obsessive.   Warriors are not my typical thing but I’ve always loved reading about them, and to write about them was both a challenge and a joy.

5) Are you a pantser or a plotter and why?

I’m a wannabe plotter.  I try but I’m a pantser by nature.

6) What do you like most about writing?

When the characters become real to me, I start to really like them and feel there is a chance that others might like them too.

7) What challenges you the most about writing?

Getting it all to fit together.  It’s the hardest, but most worthwhile bit.

8) Who or what inspires you most?

Other stories, films, general fantasies that come to me.

9) What are your plans for the future?

I’m going to work on a novel length manuscript that I wrote for NaNoWriMo.  And I’d really like to get the word out a little more for other charity anthologies I’ve been involved in.

10) Why Bellator?

It was a fantastic opportunity.  I’ve spoken to a lot of people who feel the same as I do about real-life warriors and how really we want to just go up to them, give them a hug and say ‘thank you so much’.  Of course, a lot of us are shy, or just feel silly for some strange reason.  But contributing in this way to a fantastic cause like the Wounded Warrior project in this way is so special.  It’s a way to say ‘thank you, I am grateful for the sacrifice you have made.’ Warriors are so inspirational.  We do need them, and Wounded Warrior project reminds folks that they need that ‘thank you’ very much.

Want to learn more about Jessica’s work? Check out these links:

Into the Arms of Morpheus: http://www.amazon.com/Into-Arms-Morpheus-Jessica-Nicholls-ebook/dp/B00M3MEVOE

Reaching Out: http://www.amazon.com/Reaching-Out-Anthology-Abigail-Owen-ebook/dp/B00K9QPJAQ

Here Kitty Kitty: http://www.amazon.com/Here-Kitty-Star-ebook/dp/B00FNGABKA

Leave a Reply

