New Success

July 9, 2014 at 2:08 am (fantasy, Fervor, writing) (, , , , , , )

My last submission blitz, despite a disappointing start with regards to responses, is proving to be more successful than I had originally anticipated. I’ve had one more yes in a later reply, my first noir acceptance, and a “maybe” I had believed was turning into a “no” proved to be a “yes.”

Inspired by my success so far with fairy-tale retelling mash-ups, I’ve jumped into a new project writing a cyberpunk retelling of “Jack and the Beanstalk”. This is new territory for me, but that adds to the excitement. We’ll soon see what the test readers have to say. It will need to be submitted to the place I have in mind by month’s end.

This has been a good year for fantasy acceptances for me. My past acceptances for short stories have been predominantly horror, even though fantasy is my first love, so it’s nice to see that shifting a little. My next two stories out have an element of fantasy to them, although “The Godmother’s Curse” has a equal helping of horror.

“A Fly on the Wall” arriving in August, on the other hand, is strictly fantasy. It introduces a guild and a villainous character who makes an encore appearance in Book #6 of my Masters & Renegades series, due out in 2016. The story and the novel were written more than a decade apart.

Back to some review work I have to do before vacation kicks in. Back to working on Chapter #7 of Dominion as well. Next week I’ll be putting the last few changes into Endeavor before it goes off to MDP.

Leave a Reply

