The Good Fight

July 3, 2014 at 12:15 am (fantasy, writing) (, , , , , , )

Sometimes, good things can come from rejection. My last submission blitz has been less than successful (three acceptances so far … which is only 10% of total submissions with very few still pending, so little chance of improving that.) While wallowing in my bog of rejections, I mentioned I was looking for calls for submissions for charity anthologies, since I figured I’d have a better chance of giving the stories away. I was being facetious about that last part. I actually believe charity anthologies have a lot of merit, I’ve stated this fact on this blog in the past. I did mean the part about wanting to submit to charity anthologies which wasn’t lost on everyone.

Somebody saw my post and asked if I might have a story to submit to a charity anthology they were assembling. They were looking for speculative fiction stories about warriors – ones with purpose to the fights in their tales, ones that were meaningful in some way. She asked if I had a story like that.

Well I did. As far as I’m concerned, it’s one of the first “good” short stories I ever wrote, the first draft completed about sixteen years ago. Since then it has been rewritten several times, in part based on feedback from Marion Zimmer Bradley (I know – right?) and from the submissions editor of Beneath Ceaseless Skies … and the story is much better for it.

Now, finally, it is going to finally get the opportunity to be in print, for a cause that’s dear to my heart.

Maybe that’s the whole point to rejection. It gives us the chance to give things a second look and make things better. It provides us with the opportunity to find just the right fit for a story to give it more value. I’m sure hoping that’s the case with this one.

The anthology is set for release in August, and here is the blurb:

“Bellator”
Science Fiction and Fantasy, two genres that are both unlike and
inextricably entwined, stretching the imagination to the expansive
boundaries of time, space, and magic. These boundaries are often filled
with warriors and war, fights and causes worth fighting for, and that’s
what you’ll find in this anthology.

From fighting aliens in space to demons in a world of magic, you’ll
find many stories to suit your starship’s entertainment collection or
your favorite bard at the local tavern…or just your imagination here
and now. Sit back and enjoy twelve stories from authors both familiar
and new!

100% of the proceeds to be donated to the Wounded Warrior Project.

I hope many those I know will support the cause and get themselves a copy. I plan on picking one up, and I can’t wait to read it. I’m certain I’ll find it inspiring.

Leave a Reply

