Blitz Follow-Up #1

May 19, 2014 at 9:08 pm (fantasy, writing) (, , , , , )

Sorry for my absence, but as you know, life happens.

The response to my latest submission blitz so far has been a little disappointing, but I guess I ought to expect that when many of the markets I chose to submit to this April were a tougher sell. To date I have only one firm acceptance, with my story Velveteen, and one “possibly…maybe” which you’ll be able to read more about here. I still have many submissions I’m still waiting on, so my luck could turn, but I’m not going to get my hopes too high.

Meanwhile, I’m waiting to hear if I’m going to make it into the Wicked Women Writers finals this year. They chose to limit the finalists to 5 in 2014, so I’m not guaranteed that my audio story will be aired in the contest. If not, I’ll have to find something else to do with it. No point in wasting all that effort.

And lastly, there’s a blog tour going on involving a fantasy anthology to which I contributed (see picture). You can find the schedule for that here.

More news later…

4 Comments

  1. Jorie said,

    Good evening, Ms. Boudreau!

    I was looking for you on Twitter as I was going to send tweets your way to help promote your achingly beautiful and touching short story “Sanae’s Garden”! Which is one of the shorts inside “A Chimerical World: Tales of the Seelie Court” that spoke directly to my heart & left me transfixed as I read the anthology today! I could not get over the depth of your story (& of the others I reviewed) as I have always wanted to read more about Eastern cultural settings, timescapes, and stories when I found myself caught up in the uniqueness of Harou and Sanae’s relationship! The beauty of their connection & the gift that you stitched into the story was simply breath-taking! I can only hope my words honoured what you had written and that those who read my bookish blog (& my tweets!) will realise that they need to read this story too!

    I cannot speak highly enough on how touched I was to have found this inside the anthology! It truly evoked such a strong reaction that I nearly could not continue reading! *Always!* a good sign!

    I am sorry that your feelers going out for submissions has you feeling a bit blue right now, perhaps knowing that you have a new reader interested in more of your writings will help lift your spirits a bit! šŸ™‚

    – Jorie’s Review of “A Chimerical World: Tales of the Seelie Court”

    • chantellyb said,

      I’m so pleased to hear you were touched by my story. It was inspired by a dear friend I miss very much (I lost her just over a year ago.) This certainly brightened my day – thank you. šŸ™‚

      • Jorie said,

        Good evening, again! šŸ™‚

        Part of me felt that this story might have a deeper meaning behind it, as it was very realistically felt inside me as I read the words! The ending reminded me of the ending in Avatar — there are some writers who know how to intrinsically connect to their readers and you have this gift by far and large! I can assure you that you honoured your friend with this story, and I will always think of the truth behind the text when I go to read it again! Thank you for the beautiful insight! And, it brings me joy to know my enthused response lifts your spirits knowing my reaction! šŸ™‚

  2. The Manoj Arora said,

    I have come across your blog for the first time, but I shall surely check out your works.

    I write too. Please do read mine when u have the time:

    http://yourstoryclub.com/short-stories-love/love-short-story-grampas-tale/

Leave a Reply

