April Submission Blitz – Guilty as Charged

April 25, 2014 at 1:51 am (writing) (, , , , , , , )

I love to push boundaries. Some publishers like that, or at least are willing to tolerate it if the story is good enough. I’m hoping the publisher to whom I just submitted “Heaven Scent” falls into this category. I went with inspiration while I was writing the story and I think it turned out all the more beautiful, dark and sensual for it, but I strayed into that blurry area just outside the posted guidelines in the process. I’ve done it before, many times and sometimes it has resulted in success. Other times, it has resulted in more attempts to get it published elsewhere. I’m not sure how this submission will turn out, but I may already have another venue in mind if this one says “no.”

The publisher may decide to adhere to provided thematic guidelines like glue. I met most of them, all but one in fact, so we’ll see if they like the story, and if they do, if that one straying from the marked path will get my story ousted. While I follow rules at work and the laws of society, I don’t think creativity should be too rigidly restricted. It does mean I sometimes lose out as a result, but a writer’s got to do what a writer’s got to do. The integrity of the story just happens to be more important to me, for some reason.

Only a few days left. Time to start something new.

Leave a Reply

