April Submission Blitz – Dabbling in New Venues

April 24, 2014 at 1:56 am (fantasy, horror, writing) (, , , , , )

Sent out one of my few urban fantasy tales today and received a rejection for an earlier submission this month. Most of the venues I submit to are horror or fantasy, so finding a fit for the odd urban fantasy tale can be difficult. Rather than using an open call page, I just googled until I found something struck my fancy. I’m willing to take a chance with these stories, since they aren’t my usual genre. We’ll see if anything comes from it.

I think I’ve worn out my desire to focus on pro-rate venues for the month and the last few stories don’t really demand it as they were experiments more than anything. Not that the stories aren’t worth publishing, they’re just not my normal fare. I’d just like to see if I can get a paying venue to pick them up, even if they only offer a token payment.

My little guy is sick so I don’t think I’ll be finishing up the editing on my WWW audio submission today – maybe this weekend.

TTFN!

4 Comments

  1. Rod Naugler said,

    I’ve started looking at places to submit my novel to but I’m finding that most places require a submission fee, usually close to $100. Seems like a business just to accept submissions! 🙂
    My question is, have you ever worked with a submission service, rather than a publisher? A place that accepts submissions, reads, categorizes and rates the submissions and publishers shop the service looking for something that fits the niche they are trying to fill.

    Always love reading your work!

    • chantellyb said,

      I’ve never paid a submission fee, I hold to the rule that (unless you are self-publishing and are responsible for paying for editing, cover art, etc.) money should always flow to the author. If you are paying anything to submit or to be published, you are dealing with a vanity press and should run the other way – quickly, There are plenty of small pressess out there that will consider unsolicited, unagented submissions without charging you a cent. A few sites serve as a good reference for these venues such as Preditors and Editors (http://pred-ed.com/) or the Absolute Write water cooler (http://www.absolutewrite.com/forums/). These sites will warn you against vanity presses and scams as well as sharing authors experiences with different publishers and agents. Writers Beware is also one to check out (http://www.sfwa.org/other-resources/for-authors/writer-beware/).

      I have never worked with a submission service. The closest I’ve come is to try out free agent query services (http://www.agentquery.com/). I would advise any newer authors looking to get published for the first time to peruse all of these sites I’ve mentioned.

      • Rod Naugler said,

        Thanks Chantel, great advice.

    • chantellyb said,

      Oh – and thanks BTW 🙂

Leave a Reply

