April Submission Blitz – Getting Busy

April 22, 2014 at 1:12 am (writing) (, , , , , , )

I’ve been busy over the last couple of days. I recorded my audio entry for Horror Addicts’ Wicked Women Writers contest, but it still needs some editing because it’s running about a minute long. I hope to submit it on Thursday, as that day’s contribution to the blitz.

I also sent retractions for three stories I submitted a year ago. I got an automated response from one of the venues that they’ve suspended publication until they can get their finances in order. Unfortunately, their webpage doesn’t state this and nobody was courteous enough to inform those of us with pending submissions. This is one of these issues a writer runs into while trying to get their work out there. This is not the first time this has happened to me.

And I sent “Zuka’s Misfortune” out again after getting that automated response saying submissions were closed when I last submitted it. I got no such message this time. I also set up possible submissions for the next couple of days. That will leave me only a week’s worth of submissions left to make. If I get my WWW submission and Heaven Scent finished in that time, I have five other stories available for submission and three options for podcasts that accept reprints – more than enough. The way I see it, I’m all set to wind up this blitz successfully at month’s end, without any novel submissions required. That being said, I do have two novels from my two existing series that need a final polish and then they have to go out to MDP.

More tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

