April Submission Blitz – Mash-up Maybe?

April 17, 2014 at 11:49 pm (dark fantasy, fantasy, horror, writing) (, , , , , , )

Part of me is not a big fan of mash-ups, but I’m honestly a sucker for ones involving fairy-tales. I sharpened my horror teeth on fairy-tale mash-ups from Tanith Lee. I’m currently working on my third fairy-tale mash-up, this one based on Rapunzel but with a deviant spin. I have a Cinderella/zombie mash-up that is scheduled to be released as part of a horror anthology this summer. And lastly, I wrote up a Lovecraftian version of The Little Mermaid that I’m sending out as today’s submission. I wrote it for a pro-rate anthology that rejected it and submitted it to a token payment ocean horror anthology that gave it a maybe but then turned it down. This current semi-pro call is specifically for Lovecraftian fairy-tale mash-ups, so its timing concurrent with this blitz is a happy occurrence. We’ll see if they go for it.

In part it depends if they are looking for a Cthulu-esque writing style or just Lovecraftian elements. When I write a fairy-tale mash-up, the storyteller in me leans heavily towards a storybook stylization with a chilling edge, rather than the other way around. I think the pro-rate venue I wrote it for was looking for a story with a stronger Lovecraftian flavour and not just a something that worked Dagon and his ilk into the story. Not that my story wasn’t appropriately gruesome – that much it is. It just reads more like a fairy-tale. I have read far more fairy-tales in my time, toes and tomes of them …many of them spectacularly gruesome, than I have stories by H. P. Lovecraft, so for me they yield greater influence. I’m sure it’s different for writers that took an interest in classic horror at an earlier age.

I’m still waiting on that third Simon 451 rejection and I have another submission already in mind for tomorrow. We’ll see what happens them.

Leave a Reply

