April Submission Blitz – Improving my Chances

April 14, 2014 at 12:48 am (writing) (, , , , , )

Today’s submission, a flash fiction piece, was to Crossed Genres, a pro-rate venue that has a policy in support of new writers. They specifically reserve one slot in every issue for writers who have never had a pro-rate sale – their “new author spotlight.” This definitely improves my chances of finally securing this elusive opportunity. I’m making a point to submit as often as possible to this venue and Penumbra, who also tries to support new authors when possible. I’ve managed to make it to the final round of selections with both venues, which suggests I may have what it takes to eventually get an acceptance from one or both of them.

Not that I think getting a pro-rate sale will make things any easier. I’ll still have to work just as hard. What it will do is give me a little more confidence and maybe change the way some people in the industry look at me. There are those out there who will shrug you off if you’ve never had a pro-rate sale. It would be nice to have more people take me seriously as a writer and improve my chances of being read.

I have another flash fiction submission in the works for tomorrow and I’m eying three more opportunities for pro-rate submissions later this month. At this rate, I’m hoping to have about a 50% pro-rate submission rate for the month. Hopefully, this will up my chances.

More tomorrow J

2 Comments

  1. Maverick Raconteur said,

    Isn’t is so maddening when you make it to the last round over and over, but can’t quite seem to make the final cut? I’m having a similar experience with a couple of markets 😛

    Best of luck to you with your latest submission!

    • chantellyb said,

      Thanks – it’s frustrating, but all you can do is keep trying.

Leave a Reply

