April Submission Blitz – Next!

April 12, 2014 at 11:33 pm (horror, writing) (, , , , , )

I finished and polished my latest short and I have now sent it off to the pro-rate venue that struck my fancy. It’s a nasty little horror story that fits their theme, so they ought to give it a chance. I really like the playful approach to their guidelines which gives me some hope they’ll at least find my submission entertaining. The hubby has gotten used to my futile attempts at getting a pro-rate sale and joked about me sending it off so they can reject it. It feels that way to me too, but that won’t stop me.

Now that “Burn” is done and out the door, I need to figure out what new pro-rate venue to write for next. Even if my chances are slim, I still get the pleasure of writing the story and the opportunity to resubmit it when they turn it down, so I don’t consider it a waste of my time. I’ve read bios of established authors that talked about them submitting for ten years plus before they got a hit. It was just a matter of practice and persistence.

So I’ll keep aiming for that “maybe – someday.” You never know.

Leave a Reply

