April Submission Blitz – Ambiguities

April 12, 2014 at 1:08 pm (writing) (, , , , , , )

I always aim for a good fit when I submit, but sometimes it’s just not that easy to figure out what a good fit is. Some venues have a clear theme, like the one that just sent me an acceptance (my first this blitz), and other venues have well-defined style or characteristic preferences, but then you run across the ones that offer a list of “we like this…but we like this equally” where the two preferences are two ends of a significantly varying scale. Talk about ambiguous.

I just finished submitting to one of those ambiguous venues yesterday and I always feel like those submissions are very much a shot in the dark. When the list of items they are willing to consider spans every corner of speculative fiction, I have no idea which of my far-ranging cross-genre tales I should send. I like it when a venue at least leans a little in one direction or another. As much as I’m not fond of calls for submission that are too restrictive, I actually prefer it when they set out some guidelines.

I’m hoping to finish my short “Burn” today so I can submit it tonight. I’ll let you know how that goes.

Leave a Reply

