April Submission Blitz – When You’re Strange

April 10, 2014 at 9:59 pm (writing) (, , , , )

One of the problems with writing primarily speculative fiction is that sometimes the tales I come up with are so strange, they don’t really seem to fit anywhere. Other than submitting them to a venue like Weird Tales or Drabblecast, where bizarre is the norm, I usually end up just sitting on them until the entirely unexpected comes along.

“On the Tip of her Tongue” is one of those kinds of stories. Aside from being strange to the point that even those specializing in the peculiar aren’t sure what to make of it, it also happens to be rife with foul language – not my typical tale. I have tried submitting it to a few of the odder venues, or ones that prefer shocking fiction, but so far I haven’t had any luck.

During this blitz, however, I stumbled upon a call for submissions for an anthology that seems custom-made for this story. This honestly wasn’t an event I’d ever expect to see. I jumped on the opportunity and submitted right away, but I won’t know if it’s in until August. Other than either not liking my writing style, or not liking the story as a whole, the only thing I can see that might put them off is the amount of obscene language involved. They may see it as excessive even if the story fits very well with their theme. It was one of those risks I took when I wrote the story, but it just doesn’t work without it. So, I have sent it in as is and I’ll hope for the best.

Here’s hoping J

 

Leave a Reply

