April Submission Blitz – Sometimes Confusing

April 7, 2014 at 12:03 am (writing) (, , , , , , , )

I sent in a submission today for an anthology where the theme was a little ambiguous. From what I read, it sounded like my submission would be acceptable, although it didn’t match the ideal submission they were looking for. It did seem to fit the secondary themes they were willing to consider, as long as I haven’t misinterpreted what they were describing. I’m sure you can tell from this that I was a little confused. Before I hit send I was thinking the story I chose was a reasonable match for their “bigger picture” – but afterwards I was second guessing myself.

Story fit is a big issue when it comes to submissions. It also seems to be a point of interpretation where I fall short. About half my rejections say they don’t think the story is the right “fit” even though they enjoyed it or if it fits the venue and they want to accept, it doesn’t match up with the other stories they’ve decided to accept, so they’re going to pass on it. An author can write a fantastic story with a solid plot, good technical form and acceptable style, but if it happens to be something too distinct, you could end up having a terrible time getting it published, especially if it skirts more than one genre or lies somewhere between mainstream and speculative (I have one of those in my “available for submission” pile.)

So I’ll cross my fingers on that one – another story that got some “we really enjoyed it” slush pile love, but which has received multiple rejections nevertheless. It’s a divergent tale, both dark and hopeful, disturbing but inspiring.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

