April Submission Blitz – New Options

April 4, 2014 at 1:38 am (writing) (, , , , , )

I’ve been saving up links for different listings of venues open to submissions and that means I’m submitting to publishers I’ve never submitted to before. Today I sent in a flash piece to a new-to-me publisher and I’m staying hopeful that I’ll get a positive response. Unfortunately, submitting to unfamiliar publishers can have its drawbacks. The last time I sent off this story, it was also to a venue I hadn’t tried before. The results were not happy. The anthology switched hands while in development and the new publisher decided it wasn’t necessary to inform authors of rejected stories that they were going to pass on their submissions. The first I knew my submission had been rejected was hearing that the anthology had been released. It had been out for over a month – and all that time I was waiting on an answer that wasn’t coming.

I can understand not having the time to personalize a rejection letter or to offer feedback, but those submitting deserve at least a form letter so they know when they are free to resubmit a story somewhere else, particular if that publisher requires the submission be exclusive. It’s both the courteous and fair thing to do. I’m not sure if this publisher decided they couldn’t spare the time to send out form letters or had been cowed by a harsh response from someone they rejected in the past. What it does mean is I likely won’t submit to them again. I could have been sitting on that submission for months longer if I hadn’t noticed that the anthology had been released. I’d much rather get a rejection notice than be left in the dark.

Hopefully, I’ll have better luck with this one, no matter what the outcome.

Leave a Reply

