April Submission Blitz – “No” but Go

April 2, 2014 at 10:05 pm (dark fantasy, writing) (, , , , , )

While I was preparing for today’s submission to Lamplight, another pro-rate rejection came in. The editor, while not interested in my story, was kind enough to say she was pleased to see a submission from me in the slush pile. As strange as this may sound, it’s nice to just have my name recognized and my efforts acknowledged. I may not be meeting with any pro-rate success but the encouragement is always helpful. By the end of these submission blitzes I’m usually feeling pretty downtrodden. Any bolstering of my spirits makes the slew of rejections easier to bear (along with the odd acceptance, of course.)

I’m hoping to hear back soon on some of the novel submissions I’ve made, but it could be a few months yet. As it stands, all of my stand-alones have been submitted somewhere at this point, one to Angry Robot, two to Exile Editions and three to Simon 451. I’m considering submitting one of them to Crossed Genres if they get a “no” from where they’re at now. Considered CG is looking for mixed genre works, my writing may have better luck with them. I’m hoping CG will still be accepting submissions if and when that happens.

More tomorrow J

Leave a Reply

