Progress Update

March 29, 2014 at 3:30 am (Fervor, horror, Links, The Snowy Barrens trilogy, writing) (, , , )

My apologies for my recent absence, but my world is a busy blur at the moment. Along with trying to meet a March 31st deadline for two pro-rate submissions as part of my current writing/submission goal, I’m also working on Dominion, book #6 in my Fervor series, revving up for my April Submission Blitz and trying to finalize this year’s Wicked Women Writer submission. This month also saw the release of the print version of The Blood Flows True, the last installment of my Snowy Barrens Trilogy. So this progress report will be brief.

Released this month was an anthology I’m happy to be a part of – Let’s Scare Cancer to Death. This is one of several charity anthologies to which I’ve contributed, but this one helps in the fight against cancer and my story is dedicated to my dear friend Barb McQueen who lost her battle with cancer almost a year ago. I purchased a copy and I encourage others to do the same. It contains stories written by a great group of horror writers and supports a cause that’s close to my heart.

I did manage to complete and send off those two pro-rate submissions. So far, all I’ve had is more rejections, but the last one said my story was “quite excellent” and had made it to the final round of selections before they decided not to go with it. I’ll keep trying and maybe at some point, I’ll get that elusive pro-rate acceptance. I’ll be sending many more submissions out next month.

2 Comments

  1. Swearing off to cancer said,

    This, this I must own.

    • chantellyb said,

      May December Publications did a great job of putting this anthology together. All contributors donated their work free of charge, so every penny earned from this goes to The V Foundation for Cancer Research.

Leave a Reply

