2013 – Ack! – A Year in Review

December 31, 2013 at 11:52 pm (horror, Links, writing) (, , , , , , , , )

Don’t get me wrong because of this post’s title. The year wasn’t a total write-off. The kind of trials and tribulations I faced this year help put things in better perspective. Tragedy can spawn gratitude, amongst other things. When you lose something or someone very precious to you, you learn to better appreciate the other special people, keepsakes and opportunities in your life. You also learn to better value happiness and a sense of well-being because those things can be fleeting.

As a co-worker and I discussed, you never want to say “How could things get worse?” because they could, and if you dare ask that, the powers that be just might show you how. I would never tempt fate that way. Nevertheless, this was one of the worst years I ever remember, ranking up there with the year we confirmed my son had autism and long before that, my first serious heartbreak. The troubles of 2013 weren’t limited to my immediate surroundings but extended to family members suffering through unpleasant events and friends going through terrible times as well. Not good.

All that being said, there were definitely some positive aspects to the year – some writing firsts for me. My first acceptance, and appearance, in a Canadian anthology, now up to two with a third in the works. My first opportunity to buy a book containing my writing at a local bookstore. My first novel solicitation from a Canadian publisher. My best short story sale to date, compensation-wise. My first appearance in a Christmas anthology – the recently released O Little Town of Deathlehem (all proceeds go to charity.)Sure – I still have many goals unmet, but I have to enjoy the victories.

And the new year ahead? Well, what better to do when you are feeling a little broken than to work at fixing things? So that’s the plan. Rather than focussing my energies on building anything new, I plan on shaking things up and revamping what I already have – things that could use some care and polish. Make things better.

So there you have it. No whining about how life isn’t fair. No succumbing to frustration and despair. Just taking things in stride and stepping back a bit to reorganize, with the hope that things will be better in 2014.

Have a happy new year!

Leave a Reply

