October Submission Blitz – Mouth Sewn Shut

October 20, 2013 at 2:17 am (fantasy, horror, writing) (, , , , , , , )

Three more submissions out the door: one under my pseudonym, a flash piece I wrote today, “The Candy Man,” and one of my fantasy stories. The next thing to work on will be my Egyptian-themed story involving the Coffin Texts and Anubis. I haven’t settled on a title yet. There are so many great anthology opportunities out there, it was difficult to choose one. If I thought I could handle it, I’d be juggling four or five stories at the moment. I know better – I need to keep focussed.

My horror trope for the day is “mouth sewn shut. ” My best recollections of this trope were from serial killer movies where this was part of how they tortured their victims. In some cases the person kept silent, in others they tore up their lips so they could speak (yuck!) It also makes appearances in supernatural sequences, probably because it is a shocking image so it makes for an easy scare.

Only twelve more submissions to go and I have only two left, so I’m hoping to get word back on at least a couple of my submissions so I can resubmit. I have a lot out there.

Leave a Reply

