October Submission Blitz – Indian Burial Ground

October 17, 2013 at 12:55 am (horror, writing) (, , , , , )

“Laying on Hands” is edited and away, followed by “In Too Deep” – two more submissions for two more days. At the halfway mark, not much has come back so far – I don’t know if that’s good or bad. I gleefully noticed a new posting by Penumbra based on Egyptian myth and I think I want to work on that next after I done my current “to-be-published-under-my-pseudonym” effort. I’ve already had a couple of maybes from them that didn’t pan out, but I’m encouraged to keep trying. I hope I can come up with something as interesting as “Dry Heat” which is no longer on print but will possibly be included in a collection of my short stories May December Publications had been planning.

My horror trope for today should be Native American burial ground, if I were to be political correct, but considering its an older trope, it happens to be pre-PC. Off the top of my head, I can think of two classic examples that include this trope, Pet Sematary and Poltergeist. It has a scary mystical appeal that can be used to explain anything from zombie cats to possessed severed hands, one of those “go-to” options.

Back to working on my current story…

Leave a Reply

