October Submission Blitz – Grotesque Gallery

October 10, 2013 at 2:35 am (horror, writing) (, , , , , , , )

Today’s submission first required a retraction of my short story “Surfacing”. I’m not sure I’m going to send anymore submissions to the pro-rate venue who had been sitting on it for over a year (when supposedly their response time is 60 days). I’ve had issues with their response time for me once before and I honestly don’t think the editor likes my style (I get negative vibes from them). Maybe they figured if they hung on to it long enough I’d just go away. If so – it worked.

“Laying on Hands” is nearing completion and I think it’s a good example of how much I value the traditional storytelling structure. It has a clear introduction, I’m nearing the end of the denouement and then I’ll end with a well-defined conclusion. I really like it when I can see those components clearly within the story – it appeals to my pattern/structure loving accountant brain.

I have a book release announcement coming up this weekend, so that means more excitement for me.

And lastly, the horror trope for the day is the grotesque gallery. This is an often-used trope that appears in the form of trophies on display in rooms or hallways, in cases or hung on the wall, or maybe collected in jars on a shelf. It’s one of my guilty pleasures. I have used it on multiple occasions, including in my short story “Orbs”.

‘Til tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

