October Submission Blitz – Flaying Alive

October 9, 2013 at 2:43 am (horror, writing) (, , , , , )

Today’s submission was “The Maw” to a flash fiction anthology.

I’m making good progress with “Laying on Hands” and I hope to have it done in a couple of days. It has a longer lead in, but it is necessary to properly present the situation and the characters involved. It has good potential – I hope I can reach it.

My horror trope for the day is flaying alive – a concept carried over from medieval times and torture. It’s one of those outrageous threats some people throw around to exaggerate the extent of their rage “I’ll flay you alive.” It’s a pretty gruesome process, so the appeal to use it in horror fiction is understandable. The flaying incident I remember best was in one episode of Buffy, when Willow yields to a dark desire for revenge after the death of her lover.

Yikes!

Leave a Reply

