10 Simple Questions – WWW Edition – Julianne Snow

September 15, 2013 at 10:39 pm (horror, Links, writing) (, , , , , , , )

My next Wicked Woman Writer has shared pages with me in the Darlings of Decay anthology, but she’s more than just a pretty face who writes about zombies:

Who are you?

My name is Julianne Snow and I am an author. I’ve released one book to date and have others in different stages of production. I’ve also had numerous short stories published in different anthologies and publications. Aside from all of that, I’m the Co-owner and Publicist for Sirens Call Publications (sweet! – CB).

What have you written and in particular, what have you written that’s wicked?

Gosh – hard question! If you’d like to see my complete bibliography you can check out my blog at http://theflipsideofjulianne.wordpress.com. If you’re talking thematically, I’ve written horror, apocalyptic and post-apocalyptic stories, science fiction, some dark comedy here and there, stories that would border on the bizarre and even a little romance (I’ve tried my hand at that a couple of times too – it’s really not my thing – CB).

As for writing anything truly wicked, I have a few tales that fall into that category – Madeleine (Childhood Nightmares: Under the Bed, The Best of The Horror Society 2013), Six Millimeters (The Sirens Call eZine #2), and Fade to Black (Serial Killers: Tres Tria) just to name a few.

I’m sure you’ve heard this before, but why do you write?

I write because it’s in my blood and the stories twist themselves around in my psyche until I release them (sort of like verbal brain worms? – CB).

Do you have a preferred theme or topic (zombies, serial killers, demons, etc…)?

I don’t have a preferred theme at all. I write what comes to me at the time it fights for its chance. I find it interesting to mash genres together (I love cross-genre – CB)and sometimes the outcome works out, and in orders it doesn’t.

Are you a pantser or a plotter and why?

I’m a pantser the majority of the time. When I sit down to write, I let the storyline develop as I write. At times, I have a beginning and an end in mind, but I have to trust my process to get me to the end. There have only been a few times where the end was a complete surprise even to me.

What do you like most about writing?

I like creating. There’s a part of my logical mind that likes the whole process of crafting a story (funny – my logical part likes plotting and my creative part like crafting – CB). I like the feeling of getting to the end and then re-reading only to find out that what you’ve actually put down on paper is better than what you had imagined.

What challenges you the most about writing?

Sometimes it’s finding the right way to capture the emotion of a scene that plays out in my head. I can see it, but sometimes the words escape me in the moment of its genesis. After a little time, it comes to me though.

Who or what inspires you most?

I’m inspired by many things. Sometimes I’ll see something play across the screen at a movie and then wonder what would happen if… In others, it can be the flash of a colour, or a smell that triggers the entire plot (A smell? Wow, most of my inspirations are visual or verbal – CB)

What are your plans for the future?

I plan to keep writing and honing my craft.

Why Wicked Women Writers?

I saw the call for writers and read about the challenge. I was immediately sold on the idea of writing an apocalyptic story.

Thanks, Julianne. Can’t wait to see the next wicked thing you have in the works.

Leave a Reply

