A Current Endeavor – Getting Back on Track

September 4, 2013 at 2:21 am (writing) (, , , , , )

I’m not back up to posting regularly, but I’m trying. This is the time of year my brain turns to goo – overtime at work, trying to get the kids back to school, attempting to clean up after summer and ready things for winter , pulling in the tail end of the garden and deadlines galore. Add to that the last few chapters of Endeavor (still working on Chapter 17), extra promotions for upcoming podcasts, and the last few tweaks before The Blood Flows True is ready for release and I’m ready to sit gibbering in some corner.

Normally, I start contemplating NaNoWriMo at this point, but I don’t think I can manage it without Barb to spur me on. So Bed of Bones will wait and I’ll pass on NaNo this year. I’m going to focus on catching up after a prolonged vacation, getting Endeavor in the bag and another submission blitz in October. After that, I’m just going to kick back and enjoy the holidays, saving my energy for the new year and hopefully, new prospects. If I have more “go” than expected, I’ll try to finish up Sifting the Ashes.

My top three ambitions for the next year beyond the things I’ve listed?

  1. Get my first pro-rate sale.
  2. Get feedback from Baen on Elements of Genocide (whether they accept it or not)
  3. Find some incredible and original way to get my name out there – I’m terrible at marketing

All things beyond my control, but one can hope, right?

Leave a Reply

