Step by Step

July 23, 2013 at 10:46 pm (writing)

Guild Of Dreams

I was discussing my various goals as far as my writing goes with my husband the other day and he said I should lay it all out in a blog post. I’m not one for writing rules (guidelines perhaps but non-technical “rules” are stifling to my creativity) and I’m not even that fond of writing tips, so you can just consider this my observations and how they gave me direction – not that it would necessarily apply to you.

Step 1 – Write things: You can talk about writing until you are blue in the face, you can research the craft in infinite detail, you can scribble down character bios and plot ideas ad nauseum, but if you don’t actually start writing, you’ll have nothing to show for any of it. Pantsing or plotting, long-hand or typing, it doesn’t matter. Eventually, you need to stop talking and thinking about it…

View original post 794 more words

Leave a Reply

