A Current Endeavor – Summer Slacking

July 18, 2013 at 11:12 pm (Sam, writing) (, , , , , , , , )

I have to admit, I have a hard time staying disciplined when it comes to writing posts for blogs in the summertime. I much prefer going to the beach and gardening to sitting huddled in my stifling living room or descending to the musty but cool bowels of my basement to type up something other than Sam’s latest (and rapidly darkening) adventure. Or sometimes I’d just rather hang around watching bad movies with a cold beer in hand. Nevertheless, while not posting consistently, I am posting. That must count for something.

I’ve also been working overtime and trying to hustle to get extra work done before I go on vacation next month. I’m sure many of you working desk jobs know what that’s like. There’s no one to replace you when you’re gone. If you don’t clear away more than you would on an average couple of workweeks beforehand, the backlog you come back to after “relaxing” will often seem overwhelming.

When I’m feeling overworked, I often tend to write more (but do less of the promotional things…like blogging – I feel like I’m doing enough work already.) The truth is, writing helps me relax, and as long as I’m not stressed to my breaking point, I’m better able to write when I need that escape. I’m happier to lose myself in the plot and characters. I find solace in details and background story. The fiction becomes more real for me.

So chapter 13 is coming along nicely and I can see the end of Endeavor quite clearly in my mind’s eye from here. The characters have been playing with me and I’ve had to rewrite parts of the outline, but I think it’s for the better. I have discovered plot threads that will lead me into book 6, Dominion, and beyond. I’m also laying the groundwork for the end of the series, which culminates in book number 9.

My conclusion? Summer slacking’s not so bad, and with regards to Endeavor, it’s proving to be reasonably productive.

Leave a Reply

