A Current Endeavor – Accepting the Unexpected

July 15, 2013 at 12:20 am (Fervor, writing) (, , , , , , , )

Things don’t always grow when and where you intend them too. I found that fact out in more ways than one. Take this year’s garden. We planted several types of seeds, and we had a second year’s growth from our asparagus – although we have to wait for year three in order to harvest that. We planted chard, beets, beans (three types), squash, tomatoes, carrots, lettuce, peas, zucchini and pumpkin. The peas and yellow beans didn’t come up at all. The cucumbers made a go at it, but then died. The spaghetti squash met with a tragic accident, but everything else is doing at least okay.

And then there’s the rogue pumpkin.

We have a pumpkin growing in our bean row. We didn’t plant it there – in fact you could say that while we are responsible for it being there, we didn’t put the seed “in” the garden. It went into the compost used to fertilize the garden, the remains of Halloween, and it just happened to grow. Now it is bigger than anything we planted with intent, and has crowded out some of our bean plants.

I kind of feel that way about my Fervor series. I never planned to write it in the first place, but when frustration at failing to get any response from agents was getting to me (I still don’t have one BTW and stopped trying to get one long ago after some unpleasant experiences) I tried something a little different. I took a stab at an agent’s “theme wish-list”, picked one at random, wrote up an outline over a lunch hour and six weeks later had the first draft of Fervor in hand.

And, of course, after a couple of rounds of edits the agent in question wouldn’t even look at it.

I tossed it in my writer compost, throwing it out there with no expectation for it to grow, but a small press liked it and agreed to publish it, and several readers liked it too. It was only meant to be a one-off, but I got asked to write more and now I’m working on book number five in the series with plans on nine total before the end. It has grown like crazy… a seed that I didn’t plant and that I never intended to grow – but there it is.

I’ve planted plenty of seeds – I’ve completed twenty novels to date and only four have been in my Fervor series, but my Fervor novels are the ones doing the best. It’s nice in one way, but a little disappointing in another, just like with my garden. Sometimes, like it or not, that’s just the way it is. You can’t necessarily predict how things are going to work out. What will grow, will grow.

And at least I’m going to end up with a lot of pumpkins.

1 Comment

  1. Zombie Rose Bushes get booted, Giant Pumpkin Replaces! Will Pumpkin turn Zombie, too? | Relentless Mommy said,

    […] A Current Endeavor – Accepting the Unexpected (chantellyb.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

