A Current Endeavor – Sidetracked

June 20, 2013 at 11:52 pm (fantasy, The Snowy Barrens trilogy, writing) (, , , , , )

I have to confess – I haven’t worked on Endeavor since Father’s Day. With many projects on the go, it is easy to get sidetracked. In this case, I had started fishing through The Blood Flows True looking for an excerpt appropriate for a Father’s Day posting. I found plenty, but never got around to posting any of them because I stumbled across a couple of passages that Barb had really loved, and suddenly I was really missing her again.

She had always wanted to see The Snowy Barrens Trilogy in print which was why I started self-publishing it. She only got as far as seeing books #1 & #2 come to be, unfortunately. She did get to read the full trilogy, at least, but only in first draft for book#3.

Anyway, all of this possessed me with the notion that I had to finish up the final edits for Blood Flows True, so that’s what I’ve been doing since Sunday. Now that that’s done, I can go back to working on Endeavor until my conscience goads me into working on the cover art for book#3. I can’t put it out until I finish the cover art, the acknowledgements and updating the cast of characters to include the newcomers in the last book.

The cover art is the sticking point. My confidence is lacking there, however, so I tend to procrastinate, dreading an outcome that could either be somewhat satisfying, like for The Blood Runs Deep, or bad enough that I have to do it over again…and maybe over again after that. That’s not where my true talent lies.

Ironically, this blog post was supposed to be about background stories and zombie apocalypses, but I got sidetracked there too. Since I had to move my Blurb on Other People to tomorrow, the zombies are going to have to wait until the weekend (like the rest of us.)

Leave a Reply

