A Current Endeavor – The Gloom Is Lifting

June 14, 2013 at 10:47 pm (writing) (, , , , , , )

Despite the fact that this hasn’t been the best of years so far, I’ve been feeling happier this week. I have a Guild of Dreams posting on the way tomorrow that explains why, but I’m also often happy when I get to release new work, like Providence. I have to admit though, I haven’t been working hard on promotion in the last few months, but that will change soon I hope. I have a few things up my sleeve and a few new ideas. I just have to see if I can make them work for me.

Weather-wise, I’m still not seeing much sun, but I saw something on the bus today that warmed my spirits. A couple of young travellers got on the express bus I ride home from work. They could barely speak English (they were French) and they were a little lost. They had money, but no change, and the buses here don’t make change for passengers. The other passengers rallied and not only helped them figure out where they had to get off to get where they were going, but also passed forward change and bus tickets to make sure their fare was covered. It’s nice to know you live in a place where people will do that for complete strangers.

When they sat down there was a lively buzz on the bus. Those who could speak French (even a little) were chatting with the travellers until their stop. One of the other passengers had her cat there that would meow on occasion to add to the happy chaos. There was a strange sense of community for the few minutes they were there, everyone on the bus taking an interest. I stopped my typing to listen in – I thought it was all pretty cool.

It doesn’t take much to get someone feeling more positive about their day. Little gestures can mean a whole lot.

Anyway, now I’m back to reviewing a contract for a new acceptance (something to make my day brighter) and contemplating how I’m going to come up with extra money so I can go to the World Horror Convention next year (I reaaaaalllly want to go.) It is now an official objective for me. I’ll try to think positive about getting there.

That and the sun is going to come out tomorrow…seriously.

Leave a Reply

