A Current Endeavor – Can’t?!

June 4, 2013 at 11:21 pm (horror, Links, writing) (, , , , , , , , )

OMG – I am so tired of people who don’t know me trying to tell me what I can or can’t do. Yes, I’m a woman, but that doesn’t mean I can’t write horror, SF, westerns, war stories or any other flipping genre that some moron with dangly bits has decided should be an exclusively male genre. I also don’t want to be told that just because my brain processes information differently than the average pantser that “I’m doing it all wrong” because I use an outline and like to have a solid goal (also known as an ending) in mind when I write. That doesn’t make me less creative, less spontaneous or *less *anything.

Mr. Misogynist – it is wrong to stereotype, it is wrong to judge the entire world by your limited experiences and your ignorantly selective standards, or decide that because one member of group A hasn’t met those standards none of the members of group A can do so. Try expanding your immature and outdated perspectives a little.

Mr. Pantser – you don’t see me trying to tell you your way of doing things is wrong because when I pants I run off on stupid, unnecessary tangents and all of my endings, if I manage to get there at all, end up flimsy. Guess what? I know better. What works for you works for you and I’m not about to suggest otherwise just because they don’t work for me. Simply because you find success with that methodology, it doesn’t mean you are god of all things written and get to decide it is the only way everybody else must write. I’m sorry your creativity and spontaneity are hampered by order and direction – but that’s you, not everybody else in existence.

I’m going to write what I want to write the way that works for me – despite having breasts and despite the fact that some of you out there want to force your right-sided brain methodology down my throat.

Okay – that part of the rant is over.

What Instigated this? Well aside from the fact that I had to look into the bias directed towards woman by some people involved in the horror genre for this post, I also ran into an article today about the nastiness woman SF writers are having to deal with here. It makes me seriously angry to think that the men mentioned have the nerve to call themselves professionals.

I also ran into a few posts by a successful and prolific horror writer who insisted the only proper way to write is by pantsing, and if you aren’t doing it his way, you are doing it wrong.

The thing I think some people are forgetting here?

Mind your own damn business.

For those who don’t, here’s *my* opinion: If you don’t like what you’ve read by certain female writers – fine, don’t like it. Express your opinions if you must, but note that they are your opinions, not fact, and try using a little respect and compassion when you do so. Nobody made you the voice for the entire genre, and how dare you impose your bigoted impressions based on one or two female writers of a certain genre upon all female writers of that genre?

If I based all my opinions of men on my worst encounters with those of that gender, you all had better start running. I’m just saying.

Lighten up. Live and let live.

You aren’t perfect either.

1 Comment

  1. David Watson said,

    I remember when I was young I would not read a horror or Science Fiction book by a woman. I was much more sexist when I was younger. Now I find that I seem to like female authors better, I’m not sure but I do.

    David

Leave a Reply

