Edit Fest – Niggly Bits

May 20, 2013 at 12:29 am (writing) (, , , , , , , , )

In addition to illustrations for Providence (I have 4 done so far), I’m working on what I consider the “niggly bits” right now. That includes the preface for the novel, the acknowledgements and the back cover blurb. I actually like working on the back cover blurb, it feels like a game catching just the right words to tease the reader, dropping a hint about where the story will go without giving it all away. I want to make it sound exciting and intriguing – I want to make it alluring.

The acknowledgements are fairly simple too, but I have to make sure to touch on everyone who needs to be in there without the darn thing dragging on for pages. Barb’s going to have a special mention as she always will. None of any of this would have ever happened without her and I’m going to make sure that much is never forgotten.

The preface is the toughest of the three for me. I want to talk about the story, but not really give anything away. I also want to give my impressions on the novel and its influences or inspirations, but not ramble on. It’s hard to come up with something that works, but I’ve managed to before and with some work, I’m sure I’ll manage to again. This is part of the “hard work” end of things along with the edits.

No submission blitz update today – fingers still crossed for those stories still outstanding.

Leave a Reply

