Edit Fest – Providence

May 19, 2013 at 12:10 am (Fervor, writing) (, , , , , , , , )

I don’t like editing. No matter how great your first drafts may seem at first, after putting them aside for a few months and coming back to them, there is always a lot of work to do. But reviewing final edits is a different story. There is usually something very blissful to that kind of read through. The kinks have been worked out, the rough edges smoothed. I might catch the odd typo that everyone missed or a word that needs to be changed, but for the most part, it’s smooth sailing.

When I’m reviewing a novel in a series, like Providence, where I haven’t written the next installment yet, it gets me excited to start on that next part of the story, the ideas fresh in my mind. I was planning on finishing Sifting the Ashes after I was done with these edits and not start Endeavor, the next in the Fervor series, until August, but now I’m not so sure. I can feel the story in my blood right now, and I want to see where it goes. Maybe I’ll give in and start it earlier than planned. Normally I’d ask Barb what she thought was best, but I don’t have anyone to ask anymore. I guess I’m just going to have to figure it out on my own (she would have said start Endeavor now, I think, because she always preferred a new installment in a series to a new stand-alone and she really liked the Fervor books.)

No new updates on the submission blitz, but it could be many weeks before I hear anything else, several months in the case of the novel submissions. For now, it’s off to do more illustrations.

Leave a Reply

