Edit Fest – Day of Gray

May 15, 2013 at 1:19 am (The Snowy Barrens trilogy, writing) (, , , , , )

Pardon my gloominess, but this has been a terrible day for me and it has nothing to do with the two rejections that came my way (one was quite nice, actually). I’m generally a non-confrontational person and I had to say a few things to someone today that I really wasn’t comfortable saying. But they were things I couldn’t avoid saying. To make matters worse, it has been a month since we lost Barb and I found her loss suffocating today. I spent most of the day struggling to hold back tears and it hurt to breathe. I’m not typically an emotional person so this was all very unsettling for me.

I honestly don’t know which way is up right now. I have to keep reminding myself that it may feel like the end of the world, but it’s not, and that eventually things will resolve themselves one way or another. It still doesn’t shake that sense of a dark cloud hovering over my head and a heavy weight sitting atop my shoulders.

As a result of all this, my editing/reviews have come to an abrupt stand-still. I’m going to have to take a step back, reorient myself and maybe take on a new project for a while until I know where things are going from here. For now I think that means going back to The Blood Flows True and seeing what I can do with that in the anticipation of its eventual release. This is really disappointing because I have a four-day weekend coming up and I had other plans for that “free” time.

Submission blitz update: As I mentioned above, two rejections came in – a form rejection for “A Shovel and a Bag of Lime too”, but no surprise coming from a pro-rate market, and a very nice rejection letter for “Velveteen” with lots of positive feedback.

3 Comments

  1. weifarer said,

    Hang in there, Chantal *hug*

  2. chantellyb said,

    I will – I hate when I mess things up and it looks like the problem was of my own making, but I’m doing what I can to rectify it. I’m still feeling really sad about Barb, but I’ll get through it.

  3. cherylmoore said,

    Take strength in your characters and your family, and you will get through it. I’m thinking of you, although at this point my words are pretty useless.

Leave a Reply

