Edit Fest – Clunk!

May 15, 2013 at 10:42 pm (writing) (, , , , , , , )

That’s the sound my head made when it hit the wall after I realized my edit review issue was all my fault. I blundered, and I’m thoroughly grateful that I have a publisher who is both understanding and forgiving. I’m still not sure how I managed to screw up the way I did, but it means setting aside Prisoners of Fate until my error can be rectified. I’m going to work on reviewing the edits for Providence instead, and tackling illustrations. It actually helps to draw when I’m stressed, so this is a good time to get a few pictures done.

That’s also the sound my head made when it hit the pro-rate glass ceiling once again – another lovely rejection letter saying that while my story made it to the final round of selections, and they enjoyed it very much, it didn’t make the final cut (this being my Japanese mythology submission to Penumbra.) They also encouraged me to submit to them again in future. I know I should be happy to make it as far as I did in the selection process, that it suggests I do have a chance of getting past that glass ceiling someday, but I’ll probably remain frustrated with my near misses until one of those “maybes” turns into a “yes”. It’s one of those things I want for a sense of validation. Silly, maybe, but there it is.

I’ll skip my blitz update, because that rejection was the only news on my blitz submissions. More tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

