Edit Fest – Lost

May 11, 2013 at 1:18 am (fantasy, writing) (, , , , , , )

I got so lost in my edits today I almost forgot about this blog post. Nia is one of my favourite characters (although most find her somewhat distasteful) so I’m really enjoying revisiting her. That’s one of the few perks of editing, intermingled with the frustration of fixing the obvious mistakes and digging out the not so obvious ones. She’s going to be at the centre of the ninth book in my series, but I don’t get to come back to her in my writing until the fifth book in the series is published, per the hubby’s demands. I’m still waiting for book three to make its appearance, and Victims of Circumstance, the one I’m editing now, is book four…so I have to continue to work on other things. Meanwhile Nia and friends sit in limbo.

From the weather reports, I’ll be facing a lot of rain for the weekend. My soon-to-be-very-soggy hubby took the car and went off camping for the weekend, which means I’m stuck home with the kids and likely stuck inside too. This means some painting and lots of editing between bouts of housework, but probably no gardening. So far the kids have been good – but we’ll see how frazzled I am by the end of Sunday. If I’m too stressed by the time the hubby returns, I may get lost in a different way and celebrate Mother’s Day with a goodly amount of red wine.

Until then, more editing.

Leave a Reply

