Blitz Bonus #2

May 2, 2013 at 10:41 pm (horror, writing) (, , , , , , )

My last submission for a long time…I sent off “The Elephant’s Graveyard” to a pro-rate venue and I got my receipt confirmation. Do I have a realistic chance at getting in? Absolutely not. They invited submissions from bigger-named, established writers, leaving only two spots for open submission. They received over 100 submissions their first day open. If they average 100 submissions a day for the full month they are open, that’ll be more than 1,500 submissions per available slot – definitely worse odds than the Harper Voyager lottery (they averaged less than 400 submissions per available slot).

Does that deter me? Of course not. I’d rather say I took a stab at near impossible odds and failed than say I just didn’t bother trying. There’s no real downside here to trying.

I’m actually proud of how many pro-rate venues I submitted to during my blitz, even though I have little hope of success with them. That being said, it’s the way to go to get to the next level in publishing. The first level is just trying to get something published period. That took me a while. Now it’s trying to get the pro-rate venues to embrace you. I’m willing to push for it. As Reeree would say: “No regrets”.

Anyway, I’m definitely going to make the blitz an annual thing – maybe even bi-annual if things start piling up on the shelf again before year’s end.

Now it’s on to my editing fest…

Leave a Reply

